Eric Wilson

Eric Wilson

Eric Wilson is one of the world’s leading painters of Wildlife. He is particularly well known for his big cat paintings which are widely collected throughout the world and for which he has won many awards.

Homepage: www.ericwilsonart.com

A former Police Officer, Eric embarked upon his career as an Artist in 1990. Wildlife was his chosen subject, as it had been a lifelong passion. ‘You should always paint what you know and love best’ Eric feels, and for him the endangered wildlife of our planet was an obvious subject choice.

Eric researches his subjects fully before painting them. Every animal he paints he first observes in the wild in it’s natural habitat. His adventurous research projects have taken him to the wildest, most remote regions on earth, from observing polar bears in the far frozen north, to tracking tigers in the jungles of Asia. Sitting with gorillas in Africa or sketching bald eagles on Vancouver Island. Eric’s first hand knowledge gives his paintings the authenticity that is much loved by his collectors.

Eric has exhibited widely and with great success, from London and mainland Europe, to the United States. Christies in London have auctioned his work worldwide and he now has a firm collector base enabling him to deal mainly through his website, which allows him devote more time to painting and to the teaching of his painting techniques, for which he is in great demand.

Eric has taught hundreds of students in his studio in Buxton, England, many coming from overseas even from as far away as Australia for his lessons. He also teaches courses continental Europe and Asia. So great has been the demand for his classes, that he has made two painting DVD’s which have now become international best sellers.

Eric’s popular images have appeared in prints, calendars, magazines, jigsaw puzzles, cross stitch patterns, fabrics, fantasy playing cards and books such as ‘The Best of Wildlife Art’, ‘Keys to Painting Fur and Feathers’ by North Light Books and a book simply entitled ‘Tiger’ by Joanna Skipwith which is available at the National and Tate Gallery to raise funds for the conservation of tigers in the wild.

Conservation of wildlife is of paramount importance to Eric. His many charity auctions have raised thousands of pounds for wildlife causes. Only once at the National Exhibition of Wildlife Art he helped to raise over £11,000 for wildlife charities.
Eric is also an accomplished portrait artist who has twice painted the portrait of the super middleweight champion of the world, Mr Nigel Benn.

Send to friend:

Eric Wilson

Eric Wilson

Eric Wilson ist einer der weltweit bekanntesten Maler für Wildtiere. Berühmt ist er vor allem für seine Bilder von Großkatzen, die mit mehreren internationalen Preisen geehrt wurden und weltweit als Sammlerobjekte gesucht sind.

Homepage: www.ericwilsonart.com

Als ehemaliger Polizeiangestellter startete Eric seine Künstlerkarriere im Jahre 1990. Wildtiere wurden sein Lieblingssujet und zugleich seine Bestimmung. Eric´s Einstellung zur Malerei besagt : „ Male das, was Du am besten kennst und am meisten liebst!“ Und seine Liebe gilt den bedrohten Tieren unseres Planeten.

 

Eric studiert die Tiere genau, bevor er Sie auf die Leinwand bannt. Jedes Tier, dass er malt, hat er zuvor in freier Wildbahn, in seiner natürlichen Umwelt beobachtet. Seine abenteuerlichen Reisen haben Ihn an die wildesten, abgelegensten Orte dieser Welt geführt. Er beobachtete Eisbären im Dauerfrost des Nordens und verfolgte Tiger im asiatischen Dschungel. Er saß neben Gorillas in Afrika und skizzierte die majestätischen Weißkopfseeadler auf Vancouver Island. Dieser Erfahrungsschatz verleiht seinen Bildern die Authentizität, die seine Sammler so lieben.

 

Eric´s Werke wurden weltweit mit großem Erfolg ausgestellt. Von London über den europäischen Kontinent bis zu den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika wurden seine Bilder bewundert. Das Auktionshaus Christies versteigerte einige seiner Werke und öffnete ihm somit die Türen zu Kreisen von Kunstsammlern. Mittlerweile erreicht Eric seine Kunden direkt über seine eigene Webseite und kann sich dadurch noch mehr der Malerei widmen und der großen Nachfrage am Lehren seiner Maltechnik nachkommen.

 

Eric unterrichtete in Buxton, England, bereits hunderte von Malschülern. Einige von ihnen nahmen für die Lehrgänge lange Anfahrten in Kauf, selbst von so entfernten Orten wie Australien. Er unterrichtet in Europa und Asien. Da er nicht überall gleichzeitig sein kann, brachte er zwei Anleitungs- DVD-s heraus, die zu internationalen Bestsellern wurden.

 

Eric´s anerkannte Bilder wurden in Zeitschriften, Kalendern, Puzzlespielen verwendet, als Kreuzstichvorlagen, Drucke oder auf Stoff verewigt. Sie wurden für Spielkarten ebenso genutzt, wie als Illustration für Bücher wie „The Best of Wildlife Art“, „Keys to Painting Fur and Feathers“ (beide bei Northing Light Books erschienen) oder „Tiger“ von Joanna Skipwith. Letzteres ist in der National and Tate Galerie erhältlich und die Erlöse kommen dem Schutz der wild lebenden Tiger zu Gute.

 

Dem Schutz der Tierwelt gilt Eric´s Hauptaugenmerk. Die vielen von ihm organisierten Wohltätigkeitsveranstaltungen erbrachten bereits tausende von Euros für den Artenschutz. Allein eine Ausstellung der „Wildlife Art“ konnte mit seiner Hilfe über 11.000.- GBP (ca. 13.750,- €) für den Artenschutz erlösen.

 

Eric Wilson ist auch ein hervorragender Portraitmaler, der zum Beispiel mehrfach den Weltmeister  im Mittelgewicht, Mr. Nigel Benn, portraitieren durfte.

Send to friend: